Bishop Castle

On our way to the Florence Rose B&B, we stopped at Bishop Castle, an amazing castle in the mountains of Colorado built stone by stone by one man’s efforts,  Jim Bishop!  Construction of the castle began in 1969, and today it is approximately 160 ft. tall and weighs over 50,000 tons. He is still working on the Castle today. http://www.bishopcastle.org/

Jim Bishop
Jim Bishop

Steve

As we entered the castle grounds we were greeted with a voice of someone ranting, at first I thought it was someone causing trouble, it was actually …Bishop playing to the crowd. It seems that working on this castle since 1969 has made him very eccentric. We decided to enter the castle.  As I started to climb, already at 9,000 feet, I started to feel great, smelling that crisp clean air. If you are afraid of heights, this may not be your place. I toured all the rooms I could see (I’m sure I missed some) and kept climbing to the top. At the very top there is a bridge to nowhere which also leads you down again, if you care to step down a ladder, I decided not to but I needed to at least cross the bridge (see Photos).

While atop the bridge you had an incredible view of all the Valley and surrounding area. All in All it was an amazing example of one mans obsession.
Close up Photo

Close up 2
Close up 2
1 of many signs
1 of many signs
Ellen, Johnny and Linda
Ellen, Johnny and Linda

Inside GlassView from the Bridge 2 View Atop of bridge

View Atop Bridge
View Atop Bridge
The Bridge
The Bridge
Linda in Giant Chair
Linda in Giant Chair
Thats me on Bridge
That’s me on Bridge
2 thoughts on “Bishop Castle

Leave a Reply

